Photo by Dale Calnan/Image Factor Media

By Clayton Johns

OHSWEKEN, Ont. (August 14, 2019) – The Action Sprint Tour powered by continues its stretch drive towards the championship with the second half of back-to-back weekends of action when the tour makes it most eastern stop at Brighton Speedway on Saturday, August 17. It will be the tour’s eighth race of the season as the series suffered a single rainout at Humberstone in June.

The tour has only visited Brighton Speedway once previously, an event that took place on August 18, 2018 and saw Mississauga’s Mack DeMan visit Victory Lane. DeMan, who currently drives a 360 Sprint Car for Nathan Ackland Racing, will not be in the field, guaranteeing a different winner in the tour’s second visit to the 1/3-mile clay oval located on the shores of Lake Ontario.

The event will make for a busy weekend as most drivers will compete in weekly competition Friday night at Ohsweken Speedway before heading east to Brighton on Saturday afternoon. Entering Saturday’s event, young hot shoe Liam Martin is coming off his second win of the season at Humberstone Speedway last Sunday night and sits second in the championship standings.

Martin’s deficit is 54 points at the top of the standings as he trails Beamsville’s Josh Hansen for the top spot in the standings. Hansen has been far and away the most consistent driver on tour this season, with six top-five finishes in seven races, with his only finish outside the top-five was a sixth-place result on July 23 at Ohsweken.

Paul Klager sits third in the standings during his second season of Sprint Car racing. Klager is coming off a seventh-place result at Humberstone last Saturday night and will look to get back to Victory Lane at a track where he previously has scored wins in a Mod Lite.

Jacob Dykstra suffered through a tough night at his home track last night when he lost a right-front wheel while racing in the top-five. The Port Colborne, Ont. native was the runner-up finisher last year at Brighton and will look to finish one spot better this year. He now sits fourth in the standings, 14 points back of Klager and his first tour win of the season would certainly help him move ahead a position. Rounding out the top-five in the championship standings is Fonthill’s Steven Beckett, who jumped into fifth with his third-place finish on Sunday night. Beckett has been strong throughout the season and is only 21 points behind Dykstra for fourth.

Completing the top-10 in the standings is Ryan Hunsinger, who suffered his worst finish of the season last week at Humberstone, a 20th-place result that dropped him to sixth in the standings. Welland’s Blaine Barrow now sits seventh, six points back of Hunsinger. Hagersville’s Jerry Hill currently occupies the eighth spot while Jordan Hill moved into ninth after a strong fifth-place finish at Humberstone last week. Brian Nanticoke completes the top-10 and sits eight points behind Hill.

Saturday’s event at Brighton Speedway in presented by Pinty’s Delicious Foods and Comfort Zone Heating and Air Conditioning. Race time is 7:00pm, with Sprint Car motor heat scheduled for 6:00pm and hot laps to follow. For additional track or event information, visit


Action Sprint Tour Points Update (Top 10) Following Humberstone Speedway 08/11/19
1. 88h-Josh Hansen, 572 Points; 2. 29-Liam Martin, 518; 3. 1eh-Paul Klager, 494; 4. 5d-Jacob Dykstra, 480; 5. 08-Steven Beckett. 459; 6 R52-Ryan Hunsinger, 440; 7. 3b-Blaine Barrow, 434; 8. 49h-Jerry Hill, 416; 9. 28 Jordan Hill, 404; 10. 9c Brian Nanticoke, 396

2019 Action Sprint Tour Schedule

Mon. May 20 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont. – Winner: Josh Hansen
Sun. June 2 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, On – Rained Out
Sat. June 8 – Southern Ontario Motor Speedway – Merlin, Ont.  – Winner: Liam Martin
Mon. July 1 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont. – Winner: Josh Hansen
Sun. July 14 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ont. – Winner: Steven Beckett
Tue. July 23 – Ohsweken Speedway – Six Nations, Ont. – Winner: Matt Farnham
Sat. July 28 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont. – Winner: Matt Farnham
Sun. August 11 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ont. – Winner: Liam Martin
Sat. August 17 – Brighton Speedway – Brighton, Ont.
Sat. September 14 – Ohsweken Speedway – Ohsweken, Ont. – Canadian Sprint Car Nationals

Twitter: @ActionSprints

About the Action Sprint Tour: The Action Sprint Tour is a travelling Winged Sprint Car Series based in Ontario, Canada. The cars on the Action Sprint Tour are powered by GMC 602 Crate Motors modified specifically to fit a Sprint Car chassis. The Series ran its inaugural season in 2018 and in 2019 will run 10 races at five different Ontario tracks. Drivers will compete for a point fund and bonuses totaling $10,000. For additional information, including rules, event purse and series point fund, visit the Action Sprint Tour official website at