Photo by Dale Calnan (

By Tommy Goudge

PORT COLBORNE, Ont. (June 30, 2022) – Mike Bowman took his first career Crate Sprint Car win on Thursday night at Humberstone Speedway. The former 358 Modified champion finished almost three seconds ahead of runner-up Mathieu Bardier in the Action Sprint Tour fueled by Pinty’s A-Main, while Darren Dryden took the final podium spot.

Dryden and Bowman started on the front row for the 25 lap A-Main, but the red flag quickly flew when Jacob Dykstra’s car did a rollover after hard contact with the inside wall in turn one. Dykstra’s crew worked hard to repair the damage and he started at the back of the field for the complete restart, along with AJ Lewis who was also collected in the accident.

Dryden took the early lead after the restart with Bowman in close pursuit, but just as Bowman looked to make a move he slid off the banking in turn two while Dryden streaked away. Bowman got a mulligan for his miscue though, as the lap wasn’t completed before Tyeller Powless spun in turn one and collected Luke Stewart, Seth Roy, and Brian Nanticoke; Stewart’s car suffered the most damage and he wasn’t able to restart.

Dryden kept the lead for a few laps after the restart, but Bowman switched grooves and used the low side to challenge the leader. The pair raced wheel to wheel for several laps with row four starter Mathieu Bardier close behind until Bowman finally edged ahead. Bowman drove away to a large lead while Bardier passed Dryden for second, but Bowman’s advantage was erased when he slid off the track briefly. Bardier got close but Bowman recovered and drove away again to claim the win.

Bardier took the runner-up spot, followed by Dryden, Allan Downey from row eight, and Brett Stratford. Dykstra recovered from his first corner crash to finish sixth. Heat race wins went to Bardier, Brian Nanticoke, and Stewart.

The Action Sprint Tour will next be in competition on Friday, July 1 at Ohsweken Speedway. Visit for more information.

Pinty’s Action Sprint Tour Crate Sprint Car Series
Statistical Report – Thursday, June 30, 2022
Humberstone Speedway
Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada

Heat Race 1 [Started] 8 laps – 1:56.597
1. 19-Mathieu Bardier, Pierreville, Quebec [1]; 2. BS39-Brett Stratford, Wainfleet [2]; 3. 12DD-Darren Dryden, Freelton [5]; 4. 29W-Tyler Ward, Woodstock [4]; 5. 5D-Jacob Dykstra, Port Colborne [7]; 6. 50LS-Adrian Stahle, Kitchener [6]; 7. 39-Jonah Mutton, Brighton [3]

Heat Race 2 [Started] 8 laps – 2:02.285
1. 9C-Brian Nanticoke, Ohsweken [1]; 2. 77T-Tyeller Powless, Ohsweken [3]; 3. 71-Mike Bowman, St. Catharines [4]; 4. 16R-Seth Roy, Port Colborne [2]; 5. 3S-Austin Roes, Mossley [7]; 6. 28-Jordan Hill, Ohsweken [6]; 7. 4B-Darrell Pelletier, Port Perry [5]

Heat Race 3 [Started] 8 laps – 2:04.510
1. 9-Luke Stewart, Sydenham [2]; 2. 08-Steven Beckett, Fonthill [3]; 3. 77E-Ashton VanEvery, Ohsweken [4]; 4. 20-Johnny Miller, Six Nations [6]; 5. 19D-Allan Downey, Waterloo [5]; 6. 24A-AJ Lewis, Stoney Creek [1]

A-Main [Started] 25 laps – NT
1. 71-Mike Bowman[2]; 2. 19-Mathieu Bardier[7]; 3. 12DD-Darren Dryden[1]; 4. 19D-Allan Downey[15]; 5. BS39-Brett Stratford[6]; 6. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[11]; 7. 08-Steven Beckett[8]; 8. 24A-AJ Lewis[17]; 9. 3S-Austin Roes[12]; 10. 77E-Ashton VanEvery[9]; 11. 20-Johnny Miller[10]; 12. 16R-Seth Roy[14]; 13. 77T-Tyeller Powless[4]; 14. 4B-Darrell Pelletier[18]; 15. 50LS-Adrian Stahle[16]; 16. 9C-Brian Nanticoke[5]; 17. 39-Jonah Mutton[19]; 18. 29W-Tyler Ward[13]; 19. 9-Luke Stewart[3]; 20. (DNS) 28-Jordan Hill
Margin of Victory – 2.853 seconds
Hard Charger – Allan Downey +11

Up Next:
Friday, July 1, 2022 – Ohsweken Speedway – Ohsweken, Ontario

Facebook: ActionSprintTour
Twitter: @ActionSprints
Instagram: @actionsprinttour
YouTube: GForceTV

About the Action Sprint Tour fueled by Pinty’s: Founded in 2018, the Action Sprint Tour is a traveling Winged Crate Sprint Car Series based in Ontario, Canada. Action Sprint Tour cars are powered by GM 602 crate engines modified specifically to fit a Sprint Car chassis. Each points-paying event on the 2022 schedule will pay a minimum of $1,000-to-win and $150-to-start, and selected events will be broadcast live on GForceTV. The 2022 championship winner will be rewarded with $5,000 and a Pinty’s VIP package for the 2023 Bristol Dirt Race, while 10th place in the championship standings will pay $1,000. The 2022 Action Sprint Tour is made possible with the support of Pinty’s Delicious Foods. Visit for more information.