By Tommy Goudge (September 3, 2021) – The Pinty’s Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car series and Pinty’s Action Sprint Tour Crate Sprint Car series are heading to Brighton Speedway for a big weekend of racing. A total of 60 drivers from four provinces are entered in the event, which Brighton officials have dubbed a Sprint Car Extravaganza. Both series will run complete events with 25 lap A-Mains on Saturday, September 4 and Sunday, September 5.

The Saturday/Sunday Sprint Car tradition on Labour Day weekend at Brighton dates back to 2003. The events mark the last chance for fans to see the Knights of Thunder series east of Toronto this season, while they are the only Brighton events on the Action Sprint Tour schedule in 2021. Jim Huppunen was the Knights of Thunder winner last month in the first Sprint Car race at Brighton in nearly two years. The Action Sprint Tour also hasn’t competed at Brighton since 2019. Neither of the former Brighton winners – Mack DeMan and Josh Hansen – will be competing in the AST race this weekend, leaving the weekend wide open for drivers to add their names to the Brighton win list.

The Knights of Thunder roster will be bolstered by the presence of three well-known veteran drivers this weekend; Steve Poirier, Glenn Styres, and Alain Bergeron are three of the most decorated Canadian Sprint Car drivers of their generation, and all three will be making their first Knights of Thunder series appearances at Brighton. Poirier will be driving a car entered by Glenn Styres Racing this weekend, and will be making his Brighton debut, as will his fellow Quebecer Bergeron. Styres is second on the all-time Sprint Car win list at Brighton with a total of 15 victories, four of which he has claimed on Labour Day weekend.

The Labour Day Classic events could be pivotal in both the Knights of Thunder and Action Sprint Tour points chases, as both tours will pass the halfway mark of their seasons this weekend.

Jordan Poirier’s lead in the Knights of Thunder championship standings shrank to 38 points over Jim Huppunen after the latter won in his first Brighton appearance two weeks ago. Ryan Turner’s consistent season has him four points behind Huppunen, while Aaron Turkey and Josh Hansen round out the top five. Travis Cunningham, Holly Porter, Liam Martin, DJ Christie, and Jamie Turner hold spots in the top ten.

Jacob Dykstra extended his lead to 57 points in the Action Sprint Tour standings following his fifth AST win of the season at Cornwall two weeks ago, followed by Allan Downey, Nick Sheridan, Lucas Smith, and Eric Gledhill. The remainder of the top ten includes Brett Stratford, Jesse Costa, Rob Neely, Darren Dryden, and Curtis Gartly.


Labour Day Classic Sprint Car Extravaganza featuring the Pinty’s Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car series and Action Sprint Tour Crate Sprint Car series fueled by Pinty’s

Saturday, September 4, 2021 – Pit Gates open at 2:00pm; Racing begins at 7:00pm
Sunday, September 5, 2021 – Pit Gates open at 12:00pm; Racing begins at 6:00pm

Brighton Speedway
775 County Rd 64
Brighton ON K0K 1H0

Pit Admission – $35
Grandstand Admission – Adults 25$; Youth & Seniors $20; Kids age 7-12 $10; Kids age 6 and under $5
Visit for more information

Weekend campsite fee – $50
Reservation Link –

Live broadcast Sunday, September 5 –

0 Glenn Styres – Ohsweken, Ontario
0FM Steve Poirier – Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec
01 Mikey Kruchka – Hamilton, Ontario
1 Holly Porter – Dorchester, Ontario
3G Dale Gosselin – Saint-Pie, Quebec
5 DJ Christie – Beachville, Ontario
5D Ben Silliker – Grande Prairie, Alberta
9 Liam Martin – Binbrook, Ontario
11 Jamie Turner – Caistor Centre, Ontario
11J Chris Jones – Picton, Ontario
13 Cory Turner – Caistor Centre, Ontario
14H Jim Huppunen – Fenwick, Ontario
15 Dan Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ontario
17X Mack DeMan – Mississauga, Ontario
19 Brandon Murrell – Gores Landing, Ontario
28 Jordan Poirier – Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec
46 Kevin Pauls – St. Catharines, Ontario
68 Aaron Turkey – Ohsweken, Ontario
70 Baily Heard – Niagara Falls, Ontario
84 Tyler Rand – Picton, Ontario
87X Shone Evans – Scotland, Ontario
88 Alain Bergeron – Saint-Pie, Quebec
88H Josh Hansen – Beamsville, Ontario
90 Travis Cunningham – Grimsby, Ontario
91 Ryan Turner – Dunnville, Ontario
98 Paul Pekkonen – Brockville, Ontario

00 Ryan Poole – Brockville, Ontario
3R Austin Roes – Mossley, Ontario
4 Jesse Costa – St. Thomas, Ontario
4B Darrell Pelletier – Port Perry, Ontario
5D Jacob Dykstra – Port Colborne, Ontario
7 Eric Gledhill – Thamesford, Ontario
MK8 Matt Hill – Ohsweken, Ontario
9 Luke Stewart – Sydenham, Ontario
9C Brian Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ontario
12DD Darren Dryden – Freelton, Ontario
14 Larry Gledhill – Thamesford, Ontario
19D Allan Downey – Waterloo, Ontario
20 Johnny Miller – Six Nations, Ontario
26 John Verney – Salmon Arm, British Columbia
26X Terry Baker – Ancaster, Ontario
31 Dale Curran – Bowmanville, Ontario
38 Derek Miller – Six Nations, Ontario
39 Jonah Mutton – Brighton, Ontario
BS39 Brett Stratford – Wainfleet, Ontario
45 Nick Sheridan – Mount Brydges, Ontario
48 Lance Erskine – Brantford, Ontario
48M Andrew Marshall – Dorchester, Ontario
49C Cody Smith – Delhi, Ontario
49L Lucas Smith – Brantford, Ontario
50LS Adrian Stahle – Kitchener, Ontario
52 Matt Billings – Brockville, Ontario
55 Jeffrey Weare – Richmond, Quebec
56 Dereck Lemyre – Hamilton, Ontario
70MM Dave McKnight – Brampton, Ontario
74 Rob Neely – Rockwood, Ontario
77T Tyeller Powless – Ohsweken, Ontario
93 Bryan Cloutier – Odanak, Quebec
99 Joshua Hill – Ohsweken, Ontario

Twitter: @KoTSprints
Facebook: KnightsofThunderSprintCars
Instagram: @knightsofthunder
YouTube: GForceTV

About the Pinty’s Knights of Thunder Sprint Car Series: Founded in 2021, the Knights of Thunder series is a traveling winged 360 Sprint Car tour based in Ontario, Canada. Each points-paying event on the 2021 schedule will pay a minimum of $2,000-to-win and $250-to-start, and selected events will be broadcast live on GForceTV. The championship winner will be rewarded with $5,000 and a Pinty’s VIP package for the 2022 Bristol Dirt Race, while 10th place in the championship standings will pay $1,000. The 2021 Knights of Thunder Sprint Car Series is made possible with the support of Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Corr/Pak Merchandising, Stoneridge Specialty Insurance, Hoosier Tire Canada, Burger Barn, Nitro 54 Variety, Strickland’s Brantford Chevrolet, and EPIC Racewear. Visit for more information.

Facebook: ActionSprintTour
Twitter: @ActionSprints
Instagram: @actionsprinttour
YouTube: GForceTV

About the Action Sprint Tour fueled by Pinty’s: Founded in 2018, the Action Sprint Tour is a traveling Winged Crate Sprint Car Series based in Ontario, Canada. Action Sprint Tour cars are powered by GM 602 crate engines modified specifically to fit a Sprint Car chassis. The championship winner will be rewarded with $5,000 and a Pinty’s VIP package for the 2022 Bristol Dirt Race, while 10th place in the championship standings will pay $1,000. The 2021 Action Sprint Tour is made possible with the support of Pinty’s Delicious Foods. Visit for more information.