Photos by John Lyng/Lyng Images

By Tommy Goudge with files from Martin Bélanger

LONG SAULT, Ont. (August 22, 2021) – Jacob Dykstra continued his dominance of the Action Sprint Tour fueled by Pinty’s Crate Sprint Car series with a win in the tour’s first ever visit to Cornwall Motor Speedway on Sunday night. The win was also worth an extra $1,000 for Dykstra thanks to Lafrance Performance.

Dykstra started on the outside of the front row for the 25 lap A-Main and quickly took the lead, followed by Nick Sheridan and polesitter Jesse Costa. Traffic was already looming for Dykstra when Steven Roy flipped in turn four to bring out a red flag. Roy was not injured in the crash, and Dykstra held the lead on the restart with Sheridan in tow, while Jeffrey Weare moved up to third. The leaders began to race through heavy traffic and Sheridan slipped from second to sixth on lap 13, with Weare and Eric Gledhill moving into second and third, respectively, followed by Costa and Lucas Smith.

Dykstra stayed up front while Gledhill chased Weare through traffic, and Costa’s car suffered wing damage and faded through the field during the second half of the race. Gledhill was able to slip past Weare on lap 21, but couldn’t chase the leader down as Dykstra took his fifth AST win of the season by nearly four seconds. Gledhill came home second for his best career AST finish, followed by Weare, and Sheridan. Allan Downey came back to finish fifth after falling as far back as 11th earlier in the race. Lucas Smith, Ryan Poole, Lee Ladouceur, row ten starter Bryan Cloutier, and Costa rounded out the top ten. Sheridan, Costa, and Smith claimed heat race wins, while Brockville Ontario Speedway points leader Matt Billings won the B-Main.

Ten drivers made their first AST appearances of the season on Sunday, including Ryan Poole, Tristan Draper, Marwan Robidoux, Yan Laflamme, Steven Roy, Lee Ladouceur, Jeffrey Weare, Tyler Rand, Bryan Cloutier, and Eric Giguere.

The Action Sprint Tour will next be in competition on Saturday, September 4 and Sunday, September 5 at Brighton Speedway. Visit www.actionsprinttour.com and www.brightonspeedway.ca for more information.

Action Sprint Tour fueled by Pinty’s
Crate Sprint Car Series
Race Report – Sunday, August 22, 2021
Cornwall Motor Speedway
Long Sault, Ontario, Canada

00 Ryan Poole – Brockville, Ontario
4 Jesse Costa – St. Thomas, Ontario
4B Darrell Pelletier – Port Perry, Ontario
5D Jacob Dykstra – Port Colborne, Ontario
7 Eric Gledhill – Thamesford, Ontario
9C Brian Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ontario
12DD Darren Dryden – Freelton, Ontario
14 Larry Gledhill – Thamesford, Ontario
14T Noelle Teal – Hagersville, Ontario
18 Tristan Draper – Sydenham, Ontario
19D Allan Downey – Waterloo, Ontario
20 Johnny Miller – Six Nations, Ontario
24 Marwan Robidoux – Saint-Constant, Quebec
38 Yan Laflamme – Saint-Georges, Quebec
BS39 Brett Stratford – Wainfleet, Ontario
41 Steven Roy – Victoriaville, Quebec
45 Nick Sheridan – Mount Brydges, Ontario
49L Lucas Smith – Brantford, Ontario
51 Lee Ladouceur – Alexandria, Ontario
52 Matt Billings – Brockville, Ontario
55 Jeffrey Weare – Richmond, Quebec
70MM Dave McKnight – Brampton, Ontario
74 Rob Neely – Rockwood, Ontario
77T Tyeller Powless – Ohsweken, Ontario
84 Tyler Rand – Picton, Ontario
93 Bryan Cloutier – Odanak, Quebec
99 Eric Gigeure – Saint-Georges, Quebec

Heat Race 1 [Started] 8 laps – NT
1. 45-Nick Sheridan[4]; 2. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[5]; 3. 9C-Brian Nanticoke[1]; 4. BS39-Brett Stratford[6]; 5. 4B-Darrell Pelletier[2]; 6. 84-Tyler Rand[8]; 7. 41-Steven Roy[7]; 8. (DNF) 99-Eric Giguere[3]; 9. (DNS) 77T-Tyeller Powless

Heat Race 2 [Started] 8 laps – 1:52.674
1. 4-Jesse Costa[1]; 2. 51-Lee Ladouceur[9]; 3. 74-Rob Neely[2]; 4. 70MM-Dave McKnight Jr[4]; 5. 00-Ryan Poole[8]; 6. 14-Larry Gledhill[7]; 7. 20-Johnny Miller[6]; 8. 24-Marwan Robidoux[3]; 9. (DNS) 12DD-Darren Dryden

Heat Race 3 [Started] 8 laps – 1:53.533
1. 49L-Lucas Smith[3]; 2. 7-Eric Gledhill[4]; 3. 55-Jeffrey Weare[6]; 4. 14T-Noelle Teal[2]; 5. 19D-Allan Downey[9]; 6. 38-Yan Laflamme[1]; 7. 52-Matt Billings[8]; 8. 93-Bryan Cloutier[7]; 9. 18-Tristan Draper[5]

B-Main [Started] 12 laps – 2:39.567
1. 52-Matt Billings[1]; 2. 93-Bryan Cloutier[4]; 3. 20-Johnny Miller[3]; 4. 18-Tristan Draper[7]; 5. 12DD-Darren Dryden[8]; 6. 41-Steven Roy[2]; 7. 77T-Tyeller Powless[9]; 8. 24-Marwan Robidoux[6]; 9. 99-Eric Giguere[5]

A-Main [Started] 25 laps – NT
1. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[2]; 2. 7-Eric Gledhill[3]; 3. 55-Jeffrey Weare[5]; 4. 45-Nick Sheridan[4]; 5. 19D-Allan Downey[8]; 6. 49L-Lucas Smith[6]; 7. 51-Lee Ladouceur[7]; 8. 00-Ryan Poole[10]; 9. 93-Bryan Cloutier[20]; 10. 4-Jesse Costa[1]; 11. 84-Tyler Rand[15]; 12. 52-Matt Billings[19]; 13. 74-Rob Neely[11]; 14. 70MM-Dave McKnight Jr[13]; 15. 14-Larry Gledhill[16]; 16. 38-Yan Laflamme[18]; 17. 9C-Brian Nanticoke[12]; 18. 20-Johnny Miller[21]; 19. 12DD-Darren Dryden[23]; 20. BS39-Brett Stratford[9]; 21. 18-Tristan Draper[22]; 22. 14T-Noelle Teal[14]; 23. 4B-Darrell Pelletier[17]; 24. 41-Steven Roy[24]
A-Main Lap Leaders – Jacob Dykstra 1-25
Margin of Victory – 3.971 seconds
Hard Charger – Bryan Cloutier +11

Up Next:
Saturday, September 4, 2021 – Brighton Speedway – Brighton, Ontario
Sunday, September 5, 2021 – Brighton Speedway – Brighton, Ontario

Website: www.actionsprinttour.com
Facebook: ActionSprintTour
Twitter: @ActionSprints
Instagram: @actionsprinttour
YouTube: GForceTV

About the Action Sprint Tour fueled by Pinty’s: Founded in 2018, the Action Sprint Tour is a traveling Winged Crate Sprint Car Series based in Ontario, Canada. Action Sprint Tour cars are powered by GM 602 crate engines modified specifically to fit a Sprint Car chassis. The championship winner will be rewarded with $5,000 and a Pinty’s VIP package for the 2022 Bristol Dirt Race, while 10th place in the championship standings will pay $1,000. The 2021 Action Sprint Tour is made possible with the support of Pinty’s Delicious Foods. Visit www.actionsprinttour.com for more information.