Photos by Dale Calnan/www.imagefactor.ca

By Tommy Goudge

BRIGHTON, Ont. (September 5, 2021) – Jacob Dykstra completed a weekend sweep of the Labour Day Classic at Brighton Speedway with his fourth consecutive Pinty’s Action Sprint Tour win on Sunday night.

Austin Roes and Jesse Costa were on the front row for the 25 lap A-Main, and Costa took the lead and set off in search of his first win of the season. Costa’s season of misfortune continued, however, as he tangled with teammate Larry Gledhill and flipped hard on lap 12. The dejected Costa climbed gingerly from his damaged machine and eventually left the track for further evaluation. Dykstra inherited the lead, as he had taken the second position from Austin Roes a few laps prior.

Dykstra eventually encountered traffic after the green flag reappeared, and row four starter Allan Downey tried to run Dykstra down. Downey wasn’t able to get through traffic well enough to catch Dykstra though, and the win went to Dykstra by 2.587 seconds over Downey. Roes claimed the final podium position, followed by Nick Sheridan, Dale Curran, Brett Stratford, Eric Gledhill, Dereck Lemyre, Darren Dryden, and Joshua Hill.

Heat race wins went to Curran, Adrian Stahle, Dykstra, and Sheridan, while Darrell Pelletier won the B-Main. Dave McKnight took a hard hit after getting off track in the B-Main, but escaped without injury.

The Action Sprint Tour will next be in competition on Friday, September 10 at Humberstone Speedway, and Saturday, September 11 at Southern Ontario Motor Speedway. Visit www.actionsprinttour.com for more information.

Pinty’s Action Sprint Tour Crate Sprint Car Series
Race Report – Sunday, September 5, 2021
Brighton Speedway
Brighton, Ontario, Canada

3R Austin Roes – Mossley, Ontario
4 Jesse Costa – St. Thomas, Ontario
4B Darrell Pelletier – Port Perry, Ontario
5D Jacob Dykstra – Port Colborne, Ontario
7 Eric Gledhill – Thamesford, Ontario
MK8 Matt Hill – Ohsweken, Ontario
9 Luke Stewart – Sydenham, Ontario
9C Brian Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ontario
12DD Darren Dryden – Freelton, Ontario
14 Larry Gledhill – Thamesford, Ontario
19D Allan Downey – Waterloo, Ontario
20 Johnny Miller – Six Nations, Ontario
26 John Verney – Salmon Arm, British Columbia
26X Terry Baker – Ancaster, Ontario
31 Dale Curran – Bowmanville, Ontario
38 Derek Miller – Six Nations, Ontario
39 Jonah Mutton – Brighton, Ontario
BS39 Brett Stratford – Wainfleet, Ontario
45 Nick Sheridan – Mount Brydges, Ontario
45L Curtis Gartly – Thamesford, Ontario
48 Lance Erskine – Brantford, Ontario
48M Andrew Marshall – Dorchester, Ontario
49C Cody Smith – Delhi, Ontario
49L Lucas Smith – Brantford, Ontario
50LS Adrian Stahle – Kitchener, Ontario
52 Matt Billings – Brockville, Ontario
56 Dereck Lemyre – Hamilton, Ontario
70MM Dave McKnight – Brampton, Ontario
74 Rob Neely – Rockwood, Ontario
77T Tyeller Powless – Ohsweken, Ontario
99 Joshua Hill – Ohsweken, Ontario

Heat Race 1 [Started] 8 laps
1. 31-Dale Curran[2]; 2. 4-Jesse Costa[5]; 3. 12DD-Darren Dryden[6]; 4. 14-Larry Gledhill[1]; 5. 26X-Terry Baker[7]; / 6. 74-Rob Neely[8]; 7. 70MM-Dave McKnight Jr[3]; 8. MK8-Matt Hill[4]

Heat Race 2 [Started] 8 laps
1. 50LS-Adrian Stahle[1]; 2. 3S-Austin Roes[6]; 3. 56-Dereck Lemyre[4]; 4. 52-Matt Billings[3]; 5. 48-Lance Erskine[5]; / 6. 9-Luke Stewart[7]; 7. 20-Johnny Miller[2]; 8. 77T-Tyeller Powless[8]

Heat Race 3 [Started] 8 laps
1. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[2]; 2. BS39-Brett Stratford[1]; 3. 19D-Allan Downey[7]; 4. 9C-Brian Nanticoke[5]; 5. 38-Derek Miller[3]; / 6. 4B-Darrell Pelletier[8]; 7. 39-Jonah Mutton[6]; 8. 48M-Andrew Marshall[4]

Heat Race 4 [Started] 8 laps
1. 45-Nick Sheridan[7]; 2. 99-Joshua Hill[1]; 3. 7-Eric Gledhill[3]; 4. 45L-Curtis Gartly[5]; 5. 26-John Verney[4]; / 6. 49C-Cody Smith[2]; 7. (DNF) 49L-Lucas Smith[6]

B-Main [Started] 12 laps
1. 4B-Darrell Pelletier[2]; 2. 74-Rob Neely[1]; 3. 9-Luke Stewart[3]; 4. 49L-Lucas Smith[6]; / 5. 20-Johnny Miller[9]; 6. 39-Jonah Mutton[5]; 7. 77T-Tyeller Powless[8]; 8. MK8-Matt Hill[10]; 9. 48M-Andrew Marshall[11]; 10. 49C-Cody Smith[4]; 11. (DNF) 70MM-Dave McKnight Jr

A-Main [Started] 25 laps
1. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[4]; 2. 19D-Allan Downey[8]; 3. 3S-Austin Roes[1]; 4. 45-Nick Sheridan[6]; 5. 31-Dale Curran[3]; 6. BS39-Brett Stratford[9]; 7. 7-Eric Gledhill[12]; 8. 56-Dereck Lemyre[11]; 9. 12DD-Darren Dryden[5]; 10. 99-Joshua Hill[10]; 11. 50LS-Adrian Stahle[7]; 12. 52-Matt Billings[16]; 13. 74-Rob Neely[22]; 14. 26X-Terry Baker[15]; 15. 45L-Curtis Gartly[14]; 16. 38-Derek Miller[20]; 17. 48-Lance Erskine[18]; 18. 4B-Darrell Pelletier[21]; 19. 49L-Lucas Smith[24]; 20. 9C-Brian Nanticoke[13]; 21. 9-Luke Stewart[23]; 22. 14-Larry Gledhill[17]; 23. 26-John Verney[19]; 24. (DNF) 4-Jesse Costa[2]
A-Main Lap Leaders – Jesse Costa 1-11; Jacob Dykstra 12-25
Margin of Victory – 2.587 seconds
Hard Charger – Rob Neely +9

Up Next:
Friday, September 10, 2021 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ontario
Saturday, September 11, 2021 – Southern Ontario Motor Speedway – Merlin, Ontario

Website: www.actionsprinttour.com
Facebook: ActionSprintTour
Twitter: @ActionSprints
Instagram: @actionsprinttour
YouTube: GForceTV

About the Action Sprint Tour fueled by Pinty’s: Founded in 2018, the Action Sprint Tour is a traveling Winged Crate Sprint Car Series based in Ontario, Canada. Action Sprint Tour cars are powered by GM 602 crate engines modified specifically to fit a Sprint Car chassis. The championship winner will be rewarded with $5,000 and a Pinty’s VIP package for the 2022 Bristol Dirt Race, while 10th place in the championship standings will pay $1,000. The 2021 Action Sprint Tour is made possible with the support of Pinty’s Delicious Foods. Visit www.actionsprinttour.com for more information.