Photo by Dale Calnan/www.imagefactor.ca

By Tommy Goudge

PORT COLBORNE, Ont. (October 1, 2021) – Jacob Dykstra’s dominant season on the Pinty’s Action Sprint Tour continued on Friday night at The Fall Classic at Humberstone Speedway. Dykstra took his fourth Humberstone win of the year, and 10th overall AST victory of 2021.

Ashton VanEvery and Brett Stratford drew front row starting spots for the 25 lap A-Main with Dykstra and Lucas Smith in row two. Disaster struck for Darren Dryden before the race even started, as he could not get the engine fired in his car; Dryden entered the night fifth in points. Stratford took the lead in turn one when race started, while Dykstra quickly moved into second and Smith took third.

Dykstra caught Stratford just as heavy traffic began to factor into the race, but the yellow flag appeared for a Darrell Pelletier spin with eight laps complete. Dykstra sailed around the outside of Stratford in turns three and four after the restart and took off, while Smith quickly took over the runner-up spot. Dave McKnight brought out the next yellow flag when his top wing flipped over backwards; McKnight had flipped in his heat race and his crew had replaced the wing before the A-Main began.

Dykstra held the lead for the rest of the race to claim his 10th AST win of the season, while Smith took the runner-up spot and Allan Downey moved up to take third from row eight. Stratford finished fourth, followed by Eric Gledhill, Steven Beckett, Nick Sheridan, Dereck Lemyre, Dale Curran, and Rob Neely. Heat races wins were claimed by Smith, Downey, and Dykstra, each earning $100 from the Friday Night Thunder TV crew.

The Action Sprint Tour will next be in competition on Saturday, October 2 at Humberstone Speedway. Visit www.actionsprinttour.com for more information.

Pinty’s Action Sprint Tour Crate Sprint Car Series
Race Report – Friday, October 1, 2021
Humberstone Speedway
Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada

08 Steven Beckett – Fonthill, Ontario
3S Austin Roes – Mossley, Ontario
4B Darrell Pelletier – Port Perry, Ontario
5D Jacob Dykstra – Port Colborne, Ontario
7 Eric Gledhill – Thamesford, Ontario
MK8 Matt Hill – Ohsweken, Ontario
9C Brian Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ontario
12DD Darren Dryden – Freelton, Ontario
14 Larry Gledhill – Thamesford, Ontario
19D Allan Downey – Waterloo, Ontario
20 Johnny Miller – Six Nations, Ontario
31 Dale Curran – Bowmanville, Ontario
38 Derek Miller – Six Nations, Ontario
39 Jonah Mutton – Brighton, Ontario
BS39 Brett Stratford – Wainfleet, Ontario
45 Nick Sheridan – Mount Brydges, Ontario
48 Lance Erskine – Brantford, Ontario
49L Lucas Smith – Brantford, Ontario
51 Trevor Young – Ancaster, Ontario
56 Dereck Lemyre – Hamilton, Ontario
70MM Dave McKnight – Brampton, Ontario
74 Rob Neely – Rockwood, Ontario
77E Ashton VanEvery – Ohsweken, Ontario
77T Tyeller Powless – Ohsweken, Ontario
94 Ryan Fraser – Rockwood, Ontario
99 Joshua Hill – Ohsweken, Ontario

Heat Race 1 [Started] 8 laps – 2:00.880
1. 49L-Lucas Smith[4]; 2. 77E-Ashton VanEvery[2]; 3. 7-Eric Gledhill[6]; 4. 3S-Austin Roes[3]; 5. 94-Ryan Fraser[7]; 6. 99-Joshua Hill[8]; 7. 38-Derek Miller[1]; 8. MK8-Matt Hill[5]; 9. (DNS) 31-Dale Curran

Heat Race 2 [Started] 8 laps – NT
1. 19D-Allan Downey[1]; 2. 74-Rob Neely[8]; 3. 08-Steven Beckett[9]; 4. 12DD-Darren Dryden[6]; 5. 4B-Darrell Pelletier[7]; 6. 51-Trevor Young[2]; 7. (DNF) 20-Johnny Miller[5]; 8. (DNF) 70MM-Dave McKnight Jr[4]; 9. (DQ) 9C-Brian Nanticoke[3]

Heat Race 3 [Started] 8 laps – NT
1. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[1]; 2. 56-Dereck Lemyre[2]; 3. BS39-Brett Stratford[5]; 4. 77T-Tyeller Powless[3]; 5. 48-Lance Erskine[6]; 6. 39-Jonah Mutton[4]; 7. (DNF) 45-Nick Sheridan[8]; 8. (DNF) 14-Larry Gledhill[7]

A-Main [Started] 25 laps – NT
1. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[3]; 2. 49L-Lucas Smith[4]; 3. 19D-Allan Downey[7]; 4. BS39-Brett Stratford[2]; 5. 7-Eric Gledhill[6]; 6. 08-Steven Beckett[8]; 7. 45-Nick Sheridan[16]; 8. 56-Dereck Lemyre[9]; 9. 31-Dale Curran[24]; 10. 74-Rob Neely[5]; 11. 3S-Austin Roes[11]; 12. 94-Ryan Fraser[12]; 13. 99-Joshua Hill[15]; 14. 20-Johnny Miller[19]; 15. MK8-Matt Hill[21]; 16. 48-Lance Erskine[14]; 17. 77T-Tyeller Powless[13]; 18. 9C-Brian Nanticoke[23]; 19. 14-Larry Gledhill[20]; 20. 77E-Ashton VanEvery[1]; 21. 39-Jonah Mutton[17]; 22. 51-Trevor Young[18]; 23. 4B-Darrell Pelletier[10]; 24. (DNF) 70MM-Dave McKnight Jr[22]; 25. (DNS) 12DD-Darren Dryden; 26. (DNS) 38-Derek Miller
A-Main Lap Leaders – Brett Stratford 1-8; Jacob Dykstra 9-25
Margin of Victory – 2.336 seconds
Hard Charger – Dale Curran +15

Up Next:
Saturday, October 2, 2021 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ontario

Website: www.actionsprinttour.com
Facebook: ActionSprintTour
Twitter: @ActionSprints
Instagram: @actionsprinttour
YouTube: GForceTV

About the Action Sprint Tour fueled by Pinty’s: Founded in 2018, the Action Sprint Tour is a traveling Winged Crate Sprint Car Series based in Ontario, Canada. Action Sprint Tour cars are powered by GM 602 crate engines modified specifically to fit a Sprint Car chassis. The championship winner will be rewarded with $5,000 and a Pinty’s VIP package for the 2022 Bristol Dirt Race, while 10th place in the championship standings will pay $1,000. The 2021 Action Sprint Tour is made possible with the support of Pinty’s Delicious Foods. Visit www.actionsprinttour.com for more information.