Photos by Rod Henderson/www.canadianracer.com

By Tommy Goudge

BRIGHTON, Ont. (September 4, 2021) – A change of venue did nothing to slow Jacob Dykstra down on Saturday night. Dykstra took the lead late in the first Action Sprint Tour event at Brighton Speedway in more than two years, and went on to take yet another A-Main win.

Luke Stewart and Nick Sheridan were the front row starters for the 25 lap A-Main, and Stewart led the first 19 laps while Sheridan and Dykstra traded the second position back and forth. Dykstra got past Stewart on lap 20 and went on to claim his sixth AST win in seven attempts this season. Stewart settled for the runner-up spot, followed by Sheridan, Eric Gledhill, and Jesse Costa.

Allan Downey, Terry Baker, Darren Dryden, Jonah Mutton, and Joshua Hill took top ten finishes. Sheridan, Costa, Gledhill, and Dykstra took heat race wins, while Brett Stratford won the B-Main. Lucas Smith flipped hard in the B-Main after contacting an infield tire marker. Smith was uninjured, and planned to fix his car for Sunday night.

The Action Sprint Tour will next be in competition on Sunday, September 5 at Brighton Speedway. Visit www.actionsprinttour.com and www.brightonspeedway.ca for more information.

Pinty’s Action Sprint Tour Crate Sprint Car Series
Race Report – Saturday, September 4, 2021
Brighton Speedway
Brighton, Ontario, Canada

00 Ryan Poole – Brockville, Ontario
2M Steve Murdock – Georgetown, Ontario
3R Austin Roes – Mossley, Ontario
4 Jesse Costa – St. Thomas, Ontario
4B Darrell Pelletier – Port Perry, Ontario
5D Jacob Dykstra – Port Colborne, Ontario
7 Eric Gledhill – Thamesford, Ontario
MK8 Matt Hill – Ohsweken, Ontario
9 Luke Stewart – Sydenham, Ontario
9C Brian Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ontario
12DD Darren Dryden – Freelton, Ontario
14 Larry Gledhill – Thamesford, Ontario
19D Allan Downey – Waterloo, Ontario
20 Johnny Miller – Six Nations, Ontario
26 John Verney – Salmon Arm, British Columbia
26X Terry Baker – Ancaster, Ontario
31 Dale Curran – Bowmanville, Ontario
38 Derek Miller – Six Nations, Ontario
39 Jonah Mutton – Brighton, Ontario
BS39 Brett Stratford – Wainfleet, Ontario
45 Nick Sheridan – Mount Brydges, Ontario
48 Lance Erskine – Brantford, Ontario
48M Andrew Marshall – Dorchester, Ontario
49C Cody Smith – Delhi, Ontario
49L Lucas Smith – Brantford, Ontario
50LS Adrian Stahle – Kitchener, Ontario
52 Matt Billings – Brockville, Ontario
56 Dereck Lemyre – Hamilton, Ontario
70MM Dave McKnight – Brampton, Ontario
74 Rob Neely – Rockwood, Ontario
77T Tyeller Powless – Ohsweken, Ontario
99 Joshua Hill – Ohsweken, Ontario

Heat Race 1 [Started] 8 laps
1. 45-Nick Sheridan[6]; 2. 99-Joshua Hill[1]; 3. 56-Dereck Lemyre[4]; 4. 20-Johnny Miller[2]; 5. 12DD-Darren Dryden[7]; / 6. 49L-Lucas Smith[5]; 7. BS39-Brett Stratford[8]; 8. 9C-Brian Nanticoke[3]

Heat Race 2 [Started] 8 laps
1. 4-Jesse Costa[2]; 2. 3S-Austin Roes[4]; 3. 19D-Allan Downey[8]; 4. 50LS-Adrian Stahle[6]; 5. 48M-Andrew Marshall[1]; / 6. 48-Lance Erskine[3]; 7. 74-Rob Neely[7]; 8. 70MM-Dave McKnight Jr[5]

Heat Race 3 [Started] 8 laps
1. 7-Eric Gledhill[2]; 2. 4B-Darrell Pelletier[3]; 3. 26X-Terry Baker[4]; 4. 9-Luke Stewart[8]; 5. 00-Ryan Poole[6]; / 6. 49C-Cody Smith[1]; 7. 2M-Steve Murdock[7]; 8. MK8-Matt Hill[5]

Heat Race 4 [Started] 8 laps
1. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[6]; 2. 31-Dale Curran[2]; 3. 77T-Tyeller Powless[4]; 4. 39-Jonah Mutton[8]; 5. 26-John Verney[3]; / 6. 14-Larry Gledhill[7]; 7. 38-Derek Miller[5]; 8. (DNF) 52-Matt Billings[1]

B-Main [Started] 12 laps
1. BS39-Brett Stratford[3]; 2. 14-Larry Gledhill[1]; 3. 74-Rob Neely[5]; 4. 2M-Steve Murdock[6]; / 5. 9C-Brian Nanticoke[11]; 6. 70MM-Dave McKnight Jr[9]; 7. 48-Lance Erskine[4]; 8. 38-Derek Miller[8]; 9. MK8-Matt Hill[10]; 10. 49C-Cody Smith[7]; 11. (DNF) 49L-Lucas Smith[2]; 12. (DNF) 52-Matt Billings[12]

A-Main [Started] 25 laps
1. 5D-Jacob Dykstra[4]; 2. 9-Luke Stewart[1]; 3. 45-Nick Sheridan[2]; 4. 7-Eric Gledhill[5]; 5. 4-Jesse Costa[3]; 6. 19D-Allan Downey[6]; 7. 26X-Terry Baker[13]; 8. 12DD-Darren Dryden[16]; 9. 39-Jonah Mutton[8]; 10. 99-Joshua Hill[11]; 11. 3S-Austin Roes[7]; 12. 4B-Darrell Pelletier[9]; 13. 00-Ryan Poole[17]; 14. BS39-Brett Stratford[21]; 15. 50LS-Adrian Stahle[15]; 16. 74-Rob Neely[23]; 17. 20-Johnny Miller[18]; 18. 31-Dale Curran[10]; 19. 56-Dereck Lemyre[12]; 20. 2M-Steve Murdock[24]; 21. 26-John Verney[19]; 22. 14-Larry Gledhill[22]; 23. 48M-Andrew Marshall[20]; 24. 77T-Tyeller Powless[14]
A-Main Lap Leaders – Luke Stewart 1-19; Jacob Dykstra 20-25
Margin of Victory – 1.383 seconds
Hard Charger – Rob Neely +11

Up Next:
Sunday, September 5, 2021 – Brighton Speedway – Brighton, Ontario

Website: www.actionsprinttour.com
Facebook: ActionSprintTour
Twitter: @ActionSprints
Instagram: @actionsprinttour
YouTube: GForceTV

About the Action Sprint Tour fueled by Pinty’s: Founded in 2018, the Action Sprint Tour is a traveling Winged Crate Sprint Car Series based in Ontario, Canada. Action Sprint Tour cars are powered by GM 602 crate engines modified specifically to fit a Sprint Car chassis. The championship winner will be rewarded with $5,000 and a Pinty’s VIP package for the 2022 Bristol Dirt Race, while 10th place in the championship standings will pay $1,000. The 2021 Action Sprint Tour is made possible with the support of Pinty’s Delicious Foods. Visit www.actionsprinttour.com for more information.