Hansen Pockets $1000 at Humberstone

By: Jonathon Howe
PORT COLBORNE, ONTARIO (August 16, 2020) Humberstone Speedway returned to action on Sunday night with a $1,000 to win Showdown for all classes in attendance. Adam Leslie from Port Colborne, Ontario won the main event for the Cosco Haulage DIRTcar Sportsman. Josh Hansen from Beamsville, Ontario won the main event for the Action Sprint Tour. Justin Ramsay from Belleville, Ontario won the JC Auto Thunderstock feature. Dylan Llord from St. Catharines, Ontario won the main event for the Glo & Go Tanning Mini Stocks.

Josh Hansen and Liam Martin would share the front row for the 20-lap A-Main for the Action Sprint Tour. Things got wild early as multiple cars hoped the cushion and tangled off of Humberstone turns three and four, leading to a lengthy caution period. Once the race returned to green, Hansen showed his speed, driving away from the pack and lapping multiple cars. Caution fell once again erasing the lead Hansen had built. With the field on his tail once more, Hansen proved to be too strong on the restart and raced his way to the checkered flag over Jacob Dykstra who settled for 2nd after winning his heat race. Liam Martin finished in third with Paul Klager and Steven Beckett rounding out the top five.

Racing took place with 100 fans in the stands via a lottery-style draw and all drivers and crews practiced social distancing as guidelines and recommendations were in place by the Ontario Ministry of Health.

Marketing partners for this event were ShadowAuto.com, Maxima Racing Oils, and Club 54. The speedway would like to thank all our marketing and media partners for their continued support of racing at the historic Port Colborne, Ontario oval.

1. 88H Josh Hansen, 2. 5D Jacob Dykstra, 3. 29 Liam Martin, 4. 1EH Paul Klager, 5. 08 Steven Beckett, 6. 45 Nick Sheridan, 7. 19 Allan Downey, 8. 5 DJ Christie, 9. 56 Dereck Lemyre, 10. 50LS Adrian Stahle, 11. 74 Rob Neely, 12. 12D Darren Dryden, 13. 20 Johnny Miller, 14. B39 Brett Stratford, 15. Ryan Fraser, 16. Dale Curran, 17. 28 Jordan Hill, 18. 14 Noelle Teal, 19. 45 Curtis Gartly, 20. 29W Tyler Ward, 21. Lance Erskine, 22. 51 Trevor Young, 23. Ryan Dinning

Heat Race Winners: Darren Dryden, Nick Sheridan, Jacob Dykstra