Photo by Dale Calnan/Image Factor Media

By Clayton Johns, with files from Steven Petty

THOROLD, Ont. (July 27, 2019) – Third-starting Matt Farnham of Tonawanda, NY used an outside move to get past both Baily Heard and Jacob Dykstra on lap 12 and paced the remaining eight laps to score his second win in five days. Farnham also won at Ohsweken Speedway’s Northern Summer Nationals on Tuesday night.

“Its been a good week with the win at Ohsweken and to back it up here at Merrittville is pretty awesome,” stated an elated Farnham in victory lane.

Baily Heard and Jacob Dykstra brought the field of 20 cars to the green flag for the Action Sprint Tour powered by’s third visit of the season to Merrittville. The field was eager to try and knock Beamsville’s Josh Hansen from the top step of the podium after he won both of the events earlier this season.

On the initial start, Liam Martin, Darren Dryden, and Steven Beckett came together in turn one, with Martin the only driver unable to continue. The second attempt at the original start saw Heard jump into the lead. Meanwhile, 12th-starting Ryan Hunsinger was already up to fourth by lap four before he spun in turn one to bring out the caution.

The ensuing restart saw Heard and Farnham lead the field. The duo pulled away from the field as Hunsinger spun again in turn four to bring out the race’s third caution. On the lap seven restart, Heard continued to pace the field with Dykstra moving to take second away from Farnham.

On lap 10, Dykstra took the lead from Baily, but it was short-lived time in the number one spot. Using the outside groove on lap 12, Farnham was able to work past both Heard and Dykstra to take the lead. Dykstra’s night came to an end shortly after as he slowed off turn two.

Farnham pulled away from the field over the remaining eight laps to score his second win of the week. Current tour point leader Josh Hansen chased Farnham to a runner-up finish, while fifth-starting Paul Klager claimed the final spot on the podium. Heard and Lucas Smith rounded out the top-five.

“We had a solid finish tonight and a good points night on the tour,” said Hansen, who’s second-place result was his fifth podium finish in six starts on the tour this season.

During preliminary action, Brian Nanticoke, Steven Beckett and Liam Martin claimed heat race victories. With 20 cars signed in for competition, no B-Main was required.

The Action Sprint Tour’s 2019 campaign will take a two week break before resuming action on Sunday, August 11 at Humberstone Speedway. Race time is 6:30pm and additional event information can be found at The tour will then head east to Brighton Speedway on August 18 before crowning its 2019 champion during the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals at Ohsweken Speedway on September 14. For more information on the Action Sprint Tour, including a full break down of the Series’ 2019 point fund and race purses as well as series rules, visit


Action Sprint Tour powered by Race Report
July 27, 2019
Merrittville Speedway – Merrittville, Ontario, Canada
Total Entries – 20

Entry List
No. Name – Hometown
08 Steven Beckett – Fonthill, Ont.
1eh Paul Klager – Beamsville, Ont.
3b Blaine Barrow – Welland, Ont.
5d Jacob Dykstra – Port Colborne, Ont.
7f Matt Farnham – Tonawanda, NY, USA
9c Brian Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ont.
12 Brad Herron – Waterford, Ont.
14T Noelle Teal – Hagersville, Ont.
19d Allan Downey – Waterloo, Ont.
20 Johnny Miller – Six Nations, Ont.
28 Jordan Hill – Ohsweken, Ont.
29 Liam Martin – Binbrook, Ont.
29w Tyler Ward – Woodstock, Ont.
43 Darren Dryden – Freelton, Ont.
49h Jerry Hill – Hagersville, Ont.
49L Lucas Smith – Brantford, Ont.
52r Ryan Hunsinger – Caledonia, Ont.
70 Baily Heard – Niagara Falls, Ont.
83 Spencer Davis – Scotland, Ont.
88h Josh Hansen – Beamsville, Ont.

A-Feature (20 laps)
Finish. #-Name, [Starting Position]
1. 7F-Matt Farnham, [3]; 2. 88H-Josh Hansen, [7]; 3. 1EH-Paul Klager, [5]; 4. 70-Bailey Heard, [1]; 5. 49L-Lucas Smith, [9]; 6. 19-Allan Downey, [15]; 7. 12-Brad Herron, [10]; 8. 28-Jordan Hill, [16]; 9. 08-Steven Beckett, [4]; 10. 9C-Brian Nanticoke, [20]; 11. 83-Spencer Davis, [11]; 12. 20-Johnny Miller, [14]; 13. 3B-Blaine Barrow, [18]; 14. 14-Noelle Teal, [17]; 15. 29W-Tyler Ward, [19]; 16. 5D-Jacob Dykstra, [2]; 17. R52-Ryan Hunsinger, [12]; 18. 43-Darren Dryden, [13]; 19. 29-Liam Martin, [6]; (DQ) 49H-Jerry Hill, [8]
A-Feature Lap Leaders – Baily Heard 1-9; Jacob Dykstra 10-11; Matt Farnham 12-20
Hard Charger – Brian Nanticoke +10 (20th to 10th)

Heat Race No.1 (8 laps – Top 2 Redraw)
Finish. #-Name, [Starting Position]
DQ. 9C-Brian Nanticoke, [2]; 2. 5D-Jacob Dykstra, [3]; 3. 7F-Matt Farnham, [6]; 4. 88H-Josh Hansen, [1]; 5. 12-Brad Herron, [7]; 6. 43-Darren Dryden, [5]; 7. 28-Jordan Hill, [4]

Heat Race No.2 (8 laps – Top 2 Redraw)
Finish. #-Name, [Starting Position]
1. 08-Steven Beckett, [1]; 2. 1EH-Paul Klager, [2]; 3. 49H-Jerry Hill, [4]; 4. 83-Spencer Davis, [3]; 5. 20-Johnny Miller, [7]; 6. 14-Noelle Teal, [5]; 7. 29W-Tyler Ward, [6]

Heat Race No.3 (8 laps  – Top 2 Redraw)
Finish. #-Name, [Starting Position]
1. 29-Liam Martin, [1]; 2. 70-Bailey Heard, [4]; 3. 49L-Lucas Smith, [3]; 4. R52-Ryan Hunsinger, [2]; 5. 19-Allan Downey, [5]; 6. 3B-Blaine Barrow, [6]


2019 Action Sprint Tour Schedule

Mon. May 20 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont. – Winner: Josh Hansen
Sun. June 2 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, On – Rained Out
Sat. June 8 – Southern Ontario Motor Speedway – Merlin, Ont.  – Winner: Liam Martin
Mon. July 1 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont. – Winner: Josh Hansen
Sun. July 14 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ont. – Winner: Steven Beckett
Tue. July 23 – Ohsweken Speedway – Six Nations, Ont. – Winner: Matt Farnham
Sat. July 28 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont. – Winner – Matt Farnham
Sun. August 11 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ont.
Sat. August 17 – Brighton Speedway – Brighton, Ont.
Sat. September 14 – Ohsweken Speedway – Ohsweken, Ont. – Canadian Sprint Car Nationals

Twitter: @ActionSprints

About the Action Sprint Tour: The Action Sprint Tour is a travelling Winged Sprint Car Series based in Ontario, Canada. The cars on the Action Sprint Tour are powered by GMC 602 Crate Motors modified specifically to fit a Sprint Car chassis. The Series ran its inaugural season in 2018 and in 2019 will run 10 races at five different Ontario tracks. Drivers will compete for a point fund and bonuses totaling $10,000. For additional information, including rules, event purse and series point fund, visit the Action Sprint Tour official website at

About The mission is to enhance the fan experience of all things competitive and provide event promoters and sanctioning bodies a valuable and intriguing social media tool by engaging the audience through providing games of skill and chance at various events. provides an opportunity to fans to earn amazing prizes while gaining a greater connection to their passions. It also offers an opportunity to promoters and sanctioning bodies to earn that same connection to their audience. For more information, visit