By Clayton Johns, with files from Steven Petty

PORT COLBORNE, Ont. (August 12, 2018) – Shone Evans took full advantage of his pole starting spot and led all 20 laps on route to another piece of history as the first driver to win three races with the Action Sprint Tour powered by on Sunday night at Humberstone Speedway. Evans also took over the series point lead following the seventh race of the season.

Evans and Liam Martin brought the field to the green flag after both drivers declined the Durnin Motors Front Row Challenge and the chance to earn a bonus $500 if either could win from the 12th starting spot.

Evans jumped out to the early lead while eighth-starting Aaron Turkey, who entered the night third in the standings, was quickly on the move and raced into second by lap three after getting past teenage driver Josh Hansen.

The first caution of the race waved on lap seven when Welland, Ont. native Blaine Barrow slowed to a stop at the top of turn two. On the ensuing restart, Evans and Turkey distanced themselves from the remainder of the field while St. Thomas, Ont. driver Jesse Costa, who entered the night at the point leader, raced around rookie Brandon Murrell for the fourth spot.

Another restart on lap 10 produced largely the same result as Evans and Turkey proved themselves the class of the field once again. They raced away from the field while battling for the lead until a red flag on lap 18 when Hagersville, Ont. native Jerry Hill rolled on his side after contact with Dereck Lemyre. He climbed from his car uninjured.

The first attempt at a green-white-checkered finish did not go as planned and resulted in Costa rolling his No.52 on its side. Costa was assisted out of his car with help from the Humberstone Speedway safety team and Emergency Medical Staff. He was alert and conscious, but was transported to local hospital for further observation and treated for chest and back pain.

After the incident was cleared, Evans completed his dominating night as he held off Turkey over the final two laps to secure his third win of the season. Turkey earned the runner-up spot of Hansen while Port Colborne teenager Jacob Dykstra and Brad Herron rounded out the top-five. Brandon Murrell earned his first career top-10 in a Sprint Car with a sixth-place finish as Steven Beckett, Paul Klager, Ryan Hunsinger and Jordan Hill rounded out the top-10.

The Action Sprint Tour continues its inaugural season on Saturday, August 18 at Brighton Speedway. It is the tour’s first ever stop at the one-third mile track located on the shores of Lake Ontario in Brighton, Ont. Race time is 7:00pm. Additional event information is available at For more information on the Action Sprint Tour, including a full schedule, points, purses and point fund, visit

The Action Sprint Tour will also make one final stop at Humberstone Speedway in its second-to-last race of the year on Sunday, September 2 before crowning the first champion at Ohsweken Speedway on Friday, September 7.


Action Sprint Tour powered by Race Report
August 12, 2018
Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada
Total Entries – 19

Entry List
No. Name – Hometown
08 Steven Beckett – Fonthill, Ont.
1eh Paul Klager – Beamsville, Ont.
3b Blaine Barrow – Welland, Ont.
5d Jacob Dykstra – Port Colborne, Ont.
9c Brian Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ont.
12 Brad Herron – Waterford, Ont.
19 Brandon Murrell – Gores Landing, Ont.
22jr Al Gilletta Jr. – St. Catharine’s Ont.
26 Terry Baker – Ancaster, Ont.
28 Jordan Hill – Ohsweken, Ont.
29 Liam Martin – Binbrook, Ont.
43h Ryan Hunsinger – Stouffville, Ont.
49h Jerry Hill – Hagersville, Ont.
51 Trevor Young – Ancaster, Ont.
52 Jesse Costa – St. Thomas, Ont.
56 Dereck Lemyre – Hamilton, Ont.
68 Aaron Turkey – Ohsweken, Ont.
87x Shone Evans – Scotland, Ont.
88h Josh Hansen – Beamsville, Ont.

A-Feature (20 laps)
Finish. # Name (Starting Position)
1. 87x Shone Evans (1); 2. 68 Aaron Turkey (8); 3. 88h Josh Hansen (4); 4. 5d Jacob Dykstra (9); 5. 12 Brad Herron (11); 6. 19 Brandon Murrell (5); 7. 08 Steven Beckett (7); 8. 1eh Paul Klager (15); 9. 43h Ryan Hunsinger (12); 10. 28 Jordan Hill (19); 11. 26 Terry Baker (17); 12. 9c Brian Nanticoke (10); 13. 56 Dereck Lemyre (14); 14. 22jr Al Gilletta Jr. (16); 15. 51 Trevor Young (6); 16. 52 Jesse Costa (3); 17. 49h Jerry Hill (18); 18. 3b Blaine Barrow (13); 19. 29 Liam Martin (2)
A-Feature Lap Leaders – Shone Evans 1-20
Hard Charger – Paul Klager +7 (15th to 8th)

Heat Race No.1 (8 laps – Top 2 Redraw – All Cars Qualify)
Finish. # Name, (Starting Position)
1. 19 Brandon Murrell (2); 2. 87x Shone Evans (5); 3. 08 Steven Beckett (7); 4. 9c Brian Nanticoke (1); 5. 3b Blaine Barrow (3); 6. 22jr Al Gilletta Jr. (6); 7. 28 Jordan Hill (4)

Heat Race No.2 (8 laps – Top 2 Redraw – All Cars Qualify)
Finish. # Name, (Starting Position)
1. 88h Josh Hansen (2); 2. 52 Jesse Costa (3); 3. 68 Aaron Turkey (5); 4. 12 Brad Herron (4); 5. 56 Dereck Lemyre (6); 6. 26 Terry Baker (1)

Heat Race No.3 (8 laps – Top 2 Redraw – All Cars Qualify)
Finish. # Name, (Starting Position)
1. 29 Liam Martin (2); 2. 51 Trevor Young (1); 3. 5d Jacob Dykstra (6); 4. 43h Ryan Hunsinger (3); 5. 1eh Paul Klager (5); 6. 49h Jerry Hill (4)


2018 Action Sprint Tour powered by Schedule

Fri. May 18 – Ohsweken Speedway – Ohsweken, Ont. – Winner: Aaron Turkey
Mon. May 21 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont. – Winner: Shone Evans
Sat. June 9 – South Buxton Raceway – Merlin, Ont. – Winner: Shone Evans
Sun. June 17 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ont. – Winner: Aaron Turkey
Sat. July 28 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont. – Winner: Jacob Dykstra
Fri. Aug. 3 – Ohsweken Speedway – Ohsweken, Ont. – Winner: Jacob Dykstra
Sun. Aug. 12 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ont. – Winner: Shone Evans
Sat. Aug. 18 – Brighton Speedway – Brighton, Ont.
Sun. Sept. 2 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ont.
Fri. Sept. 7 – Ohsweken Speedway – Ohsweken, Ont.

Twitter: @ActionSprints

About the Action Sprint Tour: The Action Sprint Tour is a travelling Winged Sprint Car Series based in Ontario, Canada. The cars on the Action Sprint Tour are powered by GMC 602 Crate Motors modified specifically to fit a Sprint Car chassis. The Series is racing its inaugural season in 2018 and will run 10 races at 5 different Ontario tracks. Drivers will compete for a point fund and bonuses totaling $10,000. For additional information, including rules, event purse and series point fund, visit the Series official website at

About The mission is to enhance the fan experience of all things competitive and provide event promoters and sanctioning bodies a valuable and intriguing social media tool by engaging the audience through providing games of skill and chance at various events. provides an opportunity to fans to earn amazing prizes while gaining a greater connection to their passions. It also offers an opportunity to promoters and sanctioning bodies to earn that same connection to their audience. For more information, visit

What is
Rivalz is a game of both skill and chance. The object of the game is to predict the outcome of measured events before they happen. By combining numerous sets of options to Rivalz players, the possibility of getting everything right becomes increasingly slimmer. The player able to predict the most outcomes correctly can win exciting prizes and experiences that money can’t buy.