The top-three finishers, from left to right: Josh Hansen (2nd), Steven Beckett (1st) and Liam Martin (3rd). (Photo by Dale Calnan/Image Factor Media).

By Clayton Johns, with files from Steven Petty

PORT COLBORNE, Ont. (July 14, 2019) – Steven Beckket took full advantage of his pole starting position and led all 20 laps to score his first career win in a Sprint Car in the Action Sprint Tour’s Bob Deswiage Memorial at Humberstone Speedway on Sunday night. The win came in round five of the tour’s sophomore season for the Fonthill, Ont. based driver

“It is awesome to get our first win here,” stated an elated Beckett in victory lane. “We were so consistent and tonight it paid off”.

Beckett and rookie pilot Spencer Davis were on the front row for the main event with Beckett showing the way early. Josh Hansen took second away from Davis with Liam Martin, Blaine Barrow, and Paul Klager racing in the top-five early on. Beckett and Hansen pulled away from the field as the leaders hit lapped traffic on lap 10.

Tyler Ward, Al Gilletta and Noelle Teal spun in turn three to bring out the race’s second caution. Beckett pulled away from Hansen on the restart with Martin, Klager and Barrow racing in the top-five.

Then, with seven laps to go, Brady Chastney spun in turn four to bring out the caution. The restart saw Beckett continue to show the way and lead Hansen by two car lengths. A three-lap dash for the cash saw Beckett continue to lead as Klager looked and completed the pass to take third away from Martin. Ryan Hunsinger made his presence felt late in the event as he entered the top five. Martin was able to get around Klager to regain third but in the end, it was Beckett scoring his first career win.

“I was a little bit too tight tonight,” stated second place finisher Josh Hansen. “I can’t complain, we had a good points night on the tour.”

“We had a good car tonight. On those restarts Steven (Beckett) and Josh (Hansen) were just gone and I did all I could do to keep up,” said podium finisher Liam Martin. Rounding out the top-five were Paul Klager and Ryan Hunsinger.

Klager, Beckett and Martin claimed qualifying heat race wins for the 21 cars in attendance earlier in night. So far through four completed races in 2019, the Action Sprint Tour’s average car count is 22.5. In total, 34 drivers have attempted to qualify for an Action Sprint Tour event in 2019.

With his fourth straight top-five finish to start the schedule, Josh Hansen’s lead atop the tour’s championship standings is now 30 points over Liam Martin. Ryan Hunsinger moved into third with his third top-five result of the year and sits 12 points arrear of Martin’s No.29. Two points back of Martin is Jacob Dykstra and rounding out the top-five is Paul Klager.

The Action Sprint Tour’s 2019 season will resume action on Tuesday, July 23 at Ohsweken Speedway as part of the Northern Summer Nationals, featuring Tony Stewart, Christopher Bell and Rico Abreu. Advanced reserved tickets are available for both nights of the event at For more information on the Action Sprint Tour, including a full break down of the Series’ 2019 point fund and race purses as well as series rules, visit


Action Sprint Tour Points Update (Top 10)
1. 88h-Josh Hansen, 332 Points; 2. 29-Liam Martin, 302; 3. R52-Ryan Hunsinger, 290; 4. 5d-Jacob Dykstra, 288; 5. 1eh-Paul Klager, 274; 6. 08-Steven Beckett, 271; 7. 3b-Blaine Barrow, 258; 8. 49h-Jerry Hill, 248; 9. 88-Jesse McDonald, 227; 10. 83-Spencer Davis, 216

Action Sprint Tour powered by Race Report
July 14, 2019
Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada
Total Entries – 21

Entry List
No. Name – Hometown
08 Steven Beckett – Fonthill, Ont.
1eh Paul Klager – Beamsville, Ont.
2 Braeden Chastney – Beamsville, Ont.
3b Blaine Barrow – Welland, Ont.
5d Jacob Dykstra – Port Colborne, Ont.
9c Brian Nanticoke – Ohsweken, Ont.
14T Noelle Teal – Hagersville, Ont.
19 Brandon Murrell – Gores Landing, Ont.
19d Allan Downey – Waterloo, Ont.
20 Johnny Miller – Six Nations, Ont.
22jr Al Gilletta Jr. – St. Catharines, Ont.
29 Liam Martin – Binbrook, Ont.
29w Tyler Ward – Woodstock, Ont.
43 Darren Dryden – Freelton, Ont.
49h Jerry Hill – Hagersville, Ont.
51 Trevor Young – Ancaster, Ont.
52r Ryan Hunsinger – Caledonia, Ont.
70mm Dave McKnight Jr. – Brampton, Ont.
83 Spencer Davis – Scotland, Ont.
88 Jesse McDonald – Caledonia, Ont.
88h Josh Hansen – Beamsville, Ont.

A-Feature (20 laps)
Finish. #-Name, [Starting Position]
1. 08-Steven Beckett, [1]; 2. 88H-Josh Hansen, [3]; 3. 29-Liam Martin, [5]; 4. 1EH-Paul Klager, [4]; 5. R52-Ryan Hunsinger, [11]; 6. 88-Jesse McDonald, [14]; 7. 3B-Blaine Barrow, [6]; 8. 19-Brandon Murrell, [13]; 9. 19D-Allan Downey, [17]; 10. 5D-Jacob Dykstra, [16]; 11. 83-Spencer Davis, [2]; 12. 49H-Jerry Hill, [10]; 13. 51-Trevor Young, [9]; 14. 20-Johnny Miller, [8]; 15. 29W-Tyler Ward, [12]; 16. 43-Darren Dryden, [20]; 17. 14-Noelle Teal, [7]; 18. 9C-Brian Nanticoke, [19]; 19. 22JR-Al Gilletta, [15]; 20. 70MM-Dave McKnight Jr, [21]; 21. 2-Braeden Chastney, [18]
A-Feature Lap Leaders – Steven Beckett 1-20
Hard Charger – Jesse McDonald +8 (14th to 6th)

Heat Race No.1 (8 laps – Top 2 Redraw)
Finish. #-Name, [Starting Position]
1. 1EH-Paul Klager, [1]; 2. 3B-Blaine Barrow, [2]; 3. 14-Noelle Teal, [6]; 4. 49H-Jerry Hill, [3]; 5. 19-Brandon Murrell, [7]; 6. 5D-Jacob Dykstra, [5]; 7. 9C-Brian Nanticoke, [4]

Heat Race No.2 (8 laps – Top 2 Redraw)
Finish. #-Name, [Starting Position]
1. 08-Steven Beckett, [1]; 2. 88H-Josh Hansen, [2]; 3. 20-Johnny Miller, [3]; 4. R52-Ryan Hunsinger, [4]; 5. 88-Jesse McDonald, [5]; 6. 19D-Allan Downey, [7]; 7. 43-Darren Dryden, [6]

Heat Race No.3 (8 laps  – Top 2 Redraw)
Finish. #-Name, [Starting Position]
1. 29-Liam Martin, [5]; 2. 83-Spencer Davis, [1]; 3. 51-Trevor Young, [4]; 4. 29W-Tyler Ward, [2]; 5. 22JR-Al Gilletta, [6]; 6. 2-Braeden Chastney, [7]; 7. 70MM-Dave McKnight Jr, [3]


2019 Action Sprint Tour Schedule

Mon. May 20 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont. – Winner: Josh Hansen
Sun. June 2 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, On – Rained Out
Sat. June 8 – Southern Ontario Motor Speedway – Merlin, Ont.  – Winner: Liam Martin
Mon. July 1 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont. – Winner: Josh Hansen
Sun. July 14 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ont. – Winner: Steven Beckett
Tue. July 23 – Ohsweken Speedway – Six Nations, Ont.
Sat. July 28 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont.
Sun. August 11 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ont.
Sat. August 17 – Brighton Speedway – Brighton, Ont.
Sat. September 14 – Ohsweken Speedway – Ohsweken, Ont. – Canadian Sprint Car Nationals

Twitter: @ActionSprints

About the Action Sprint Tour: The Action Sprint Tour is a travelling Winged Sprint Car Series based in Ontario, Canada. The cars on the Action Sprint Tour are powered by GMC 602 Crate Motors modified specifically to fit a Sprint Car chassis. The Series ran its inaugural season in 2018 and in 2019 will run 10 races at five different Ontario tracks. Drivers will compete for a point fund and bonuses totaling $10,000. For additional information, including rules, event purse and series point fund, visit the Action Sprint Tour official website at

About The mission is to enhance the fan experience of all things competitive and provide event promoters and sanctioning bodies a valuable and intriguing social media tool by engaging the audience through providing games of skill and chance at various events. provides an opportunity to fans to earn amazing prizes while gaining a greater connection to their passions. It also offers an opportunity to promoters and sanctioning bodies to earn that same connection to their audience. For more information, visit