Photos by Dale Calnan/Image Factor Media

By Clayton Johns

OHSWEKEN, Ont. (September 6, 2018) – The Action Sprint Tour powered by RaceRivalz.com is set to conclude its inaugural season when it wraps up its 2018 campaign on Friday, September 7 at the same track where it all began: Ohsweken Speedway. Two drivers are in contention for the championship title in the first season of travelling Crated Sprint Car racing in Ontario.

The main title contenders are Shone Evans and Aaron Turkey while Jacob Dykstra remains mathematically in contention. Evans holds an eight-point advantage in the championship standings entering the deciding race, which provides the Scotland, Ont. native a slim cushion for the final 20-lap Feature. Dykstra is 24 points back of Evans and remains mathematically alive, but will need some help in order to capture the title.

How They Got Here

Shone Evans has had a tremendous season with the Action Sprint Tour. The veteran driver collected three wins this season at three different tracks, with victories coming at Merrittville Speedway, South Buxton Raceway and Humberstone Speedway. In nine races so far, he has finished on the podium six times and in the top-five seven times. His only finish outside the top-10 came at Humberstone on June 17, an 18th-place finish. All together, Evans’ season behind the wheel of the Total Rentals/Ackland Insurance No.87x has been impressive. He controls his own fate on Friday night and can clinch the title simply by finishing third or better or simply ahead of both Turkey and Dykstra.

Aaron Turkey has also had an impressive season in his Styres Brothers Racing No.68 car. The veteran driver started the year with a win in the tour’s first ever race at Ohsweken back in May. He also scored a win almost exactly one month later when he captured a June win at Humberstone. Since that victory, he has not finished worse than fifth, brining him to a total of eight top-five results in nine starts. His only finish outside the top-five was a DNF at South Buxton in the third race of the year, the only finish keeping him from the points lead. Turkey will likely need his fifth podium finish of the year or his third win in order to win the title this Friday night. He’ll need to finish a minimum of four spots better than Evans to claim the title.

The third and final championship contender is Port Colborne, Ont. teenager Jacob Dykstra. The driver of the Lakeshore Gators No.5d has had a breakout season. Dykstra surprised many with a pair of wins on the tour this season. The 24-point gap will be a challenging one to overcome, but in addition to his win at Merrittville, Dykstra also has an AST win at Ohsweken as well as a weekly win with the Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars to build on this week. Dykstra certainly has the talent to pull off a miracle on Friday night, especially if the car is right, but will need some help, likely in the form of some competitor misfortune, in order to claim the crown.

Championship night at Ohsweken Speedway is presented by Insta-Panels. Race time is scheduled for 7:30pm. A pre-race autograph session with select drivers will take place behind the main grandstand as well as a Racer’s Marketplace, where fans will have a chance to buy their favourite driver’s merchandise. Additional event information is available at www.ohswekenspeedway.ca.

2018 Action Sprint Tour Top-5 Points Update
Following September 2 at Humberstone Speedway

  1. 87x Shone Evans – 679
  2.  68 Aaron Turkey – 671
  3. 5d Jacob Dykstra – 655
  4. 43h Ryan Hunsinger – 581
  5. 1eh Paul Klager – 567


2018 Action Sprint Tour powered by RaceRivalz.com Schedule

Fri. May 18 – Ohsweken Speedway – Ohsweken, Ont. – Winner: Aaron Turkey
Mon. May 21 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont. – Winner: Shone Evans
Sat. June 9 – South Buxton Raceway – Merlin, Ont. – Winner: Shone Evans
Sun. June 17 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ont. – Winner: Aaron Turkey
Sat. July 28 – Merrittville Speedway – Thorold, Ont. – Winner: Jacob Dykstra
Fri. Aug. 3 – Ohsweken Speedway – Ohsweken, Ont. – Winner: Jacob Dykstra
Sun. Aug. 12 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ont. – Winner: Shone Evans
Sat. Aug. 18 – Brighton Speedway – Brighton, Ont. – Winner: Mack DeMan
Sun. Sept. 2 – Humberstone Speedway – Port Colborne, Ont. – Winner: Matt Farnham
Fri. Sept. 7 – Ohsweken Speedway – Ohsweken, Ont.

Website: www.ActionSprintTour.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/ActionSprintTour
Twitter: @ActionSprints

About the Action Sprint Tour: The Action Sprint Tour is a travelling Winged Sprint Car Series based in Ontario, Canada. The cars on the Action Sprint Tour are powered by GMC 602 Crate Motors modified specifically to fit a Sprint Car chassis. The Series is racing its inaugural season in 2018 and will run 10 races at 5 different Ontario tracks. Drivers will compete for a point fund and bonuses totaling $10,000. For additional information, including rules, event purse and series point fund, visit the Series official website at www.ActionSprintTour.com.

About RaceRivalz.com: The RaceRivalz.com mission is to enhance the fan experience of all things competitive and provide event promoters and sanctioning bodies a valuable and intriguing social media tool by engaging the audience through providing games of skill and chance at various events. RaceRivalz.com provides an opportunity to fans to earn amazing prizes while gaining a greater connection to their passions. It also offers an opportunity to promoters and sanctioning bodies to earn that same connection to their audience. For more information, visit RaceRivalz.com.

What is RaceRivalz.com?
Rivalz is a game of both skill and chance. The object of the game is to predict the outcome of measured events before they happen. By combining numerous sets of options to Rivalz players, the possibility of getting everything right becomes increasingly slimmer. The player able to predict the most outcomes correctly can win exciting prizes and experiences that money can’t buy.